top of page

Chakras: The 7 Main Energy Centers of the Body

7 Chakras

The word chakra means wheel in Sanskrit, and the chakras are the seven major energy centers in the body. Each chakra exists along the spine at an intersection of an energy pathway called nadi, with each chakra being associated with certain aspects of health and development—physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually. Here are the seven main chakras, along with basic information about their function, location, and traits.

Chakra 1: Muladhara - Root Chakra

This chakra, also known as Root Chakra, is located at the base of your spine. It controls your sense of safety and security in life. If you have low self-esteem or feel like you are not good enough, then you are probably suffering from blockages in your root chakra. A blocked muladhara can lead to constant anxiety and depression. On a physical level, it is linked to fertility and legs issues (like sciatic pain). Do some yoga poses that activate Muladhara (known as Kegel exercises for women) to help clear blockages. You can also meditate on creative visualization exercises such as placing yourself into nature and imagining roots growing from your feet to connect with Mother Earth, making you feel grounded again after feeling disconnected from life.

Chakra 2: Svadhisthana - Sacral Chakra

This chakra represents sexuality, creativity, and power. A person who is out of balance will have a lot of sexual desire but will not find satisfaction or enjoyment in sex. They may be creative, but they might lack follow-through and focus to complete projects. This chakra also represents our ability to communicate effectively with other people so imbalance can cause someone to feel unimportant or without authority. It’s important to keep an eye on your energy levels and make sure you are feeling balanced in all areas related to your sacral chakra. If something is off it could lead to feelings such as depression, isolation, laziness or anger issues.

Chakra 3: Manipura - Solar Plexus Chakra

This chakra is located in your lower abdomen, and it controls energy, metabolism, digestion and self-esteem. When I have clients who are struggling with stress or self-esteem issues, I often use my signature one on one chakra clearing practice. You can do simple visualizations to clear your chakra 3 during meditation by envisioning a golden ball of light descending from above and filling up your solar plexus area. Visualize that you are drawing positive energy down through your body as it travels into chakra 3 for a few minutes before moving onto other areas. As soon as you start to visualize an area in color it means that there is something active going on within that region.

Chakra 4: Anahata - Heart Chakra

Known as the heart chakra, Anahata is associated with unconditional love. Located in your center chest (and sometimes referred to as the heart), Anahata is a chakra that radiates love outwards in all directions. This chakra helps us to access our intuition and feel empathy towards others. It also makes us receptive to compassion, which we can then offer back to those around us – both living and spiritual alike. When Anahata is balanced, you'll find yourself living a fulfilled life of love and good relations with others. Of course, an imbalanced Anahata can have exactly opposite effects, making it important for you to work on your well-being by cleansing your heart energy regularly . . .

Chakra 5: Vishudda - Throat Chakra

Communication is key, whether it’s with yourself or others. A healthy Vishuddha Chakra helps you communicate clearly—with compassion. When your chakra is blocked, you can have trouble speaking up for yourself and accepting criticism from others. Practicing good communication will help your mind and body work better together; start by communicating with yourself through prayer or meditation.

Chakra 6 : Ajna - Third Eye or Brow Chakra

This chakra regulates your interaction with energy from higher spiritual realms, and is associated with higher states of consciousness. When it is balanced, you have clarity about yourself and others. Good judgment comes easily to you and you can be very objective. Balanced Ajna Chakra - This chakra allows us to see clearly both how we connect to others energetically as well as what blocks are preventing us from moving forward into our own self-expression in a clear manner. The need for empathy with others is strong within this chakra. Those who wish to promote greater understanding between people must work on balancing their Ajna Chakra.

Chakra 7 : Sahasrara - Crown Chakra

It is associated with our spiritual nature, and with pure consciousness. It is located at the top of our head and is considered to be a gateway that allows us to communicate with our higher self. Many meditators focus on their crown chakra in order to achieve their goal of enlightenment or communion with God. As such, it has many healing properties. A balanced crown chakra results in peace, happiness, clarity and wisdom as well as unconditional love and compassion for oneself and others. When it becomes unbalanced you may experience headaches, confusion or lack concentration.

Chakra Balancing
Chakra Balancing Session

How to clear your Chakras

When energy in our body is blocked or imbalanced, we can feel tired and stressed out. One way to unblock and balance your energy is to clear your chakras. A Chakra Balancing Session at Serene Soul Studio in Delray Beach, FL will do just that. Chakras are powerful points along our spiritual spinal column where energy flows in and out. When something goes wrong, they become blocked with negative energy. Unblocking them through chakra clearing (also called balancing) brings us back into harmony with ourselves and others; it also activates our higher consciousness and bestows us with heightened intuition.

Chakra Balancing is an important component of any Spiritual Health regimen. When was the last time you had your Chakras balanced?

8 views0 comments


bottom of page